Classic Rock Newswire

Click here for GRTR! Free Guestbook
My Guestbook

Friday, September 29, 2006

Shout! Factory announces the release of the official soundtrack to the hit television comedy series, “My Name Is Earl.” My Name Is Earl – The Album features brand new, never before released tracks from Matthew Sweet, Uncle Kracker, John Hiatt and rock newcomers Van Nuys, recorded exclusively for the soundtrack. In addition, the album includes some of Earl’s favorite songs used in episodes which aired during the premiere ’05-’06 season. Shout! Factory worked with Earl (Jason Lee) and the show’s creator Greg Garcia to put together the soundtrack, which also includes key sound bytes from the show, and an unheard vocal version of the “My Name Is Earl” theme song. My Name Is Earl – The Album arrives in stores September 19th for the suggested retail price of $18.98.

My Name Is Earl – The Album was conceived as a gift from Earl to his brother Randy. As Earl writes in the booklet, “Some of the songs are ones that kinda play in my head sometimes when we’re walking around and stuff. There’s a bunch on here. Those CD’s can hold a lot.” Earl continues, “We put on some Skynyrd, Jerry Reed, that rap song that is B-7 on the Crab Shack juke box, I even found a song called ‘Joy’.” Uncle Kracker covers The Band’s “The Weight,” Matthew Sweet rocks out to Electric Light Orchestra’s “Livin’ Thing,” and John Hiatt recorded a rollicking, garage rock-inspired version of John Lennon’s “Instant Karma.” Also new is a sinister twisted folk-metal version of Nena’s “99 Red Balloons” recorded by the new, all-star mystery band Van Nuys.

The My Name Is Earl – The Album CD release coincides with the September 19th arrival of the “My Name Is Earl” Season One DVD Collection from Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment. The “My Name Is Earl” Season One DVD collection boasts a hilarious, never-before-seen DVD exclusive short entitled "Bad Karma: An Earl Misadventure," which reveals the twisted path Earl might have taken if he chose NOT to live by the laws of karma. The DVD also features audio commentaries from the crew, the cast and their mothers, deleted scenes, blooper reel, a featurette and is available for the suggested retail price of $49.98.

Official site

1. “East Bound And Down” – Jerry Reed (From “Stole Beer From A Golfer” Episode)
2. “The Weight” – Uncle Kracker (Original Version By The Band Is In “Monkeys In Space” Episode)
3. “One Time One Night” – Los Lobos (From “Didn’t Pay Taxes” Episode)
4. “Bust A Move” – Young M.C. (From “Ruined Joy’s Wedding” Episode)
5. “Livin’ Thing” – Matthew Sweet (Original Version By ELO Is In “Quit Smoking” Episode)
6. “It Takes Two” – Rob Base & D.J. E-Z Rock (From the series’ Pilot and “Bounty Hunter” Episodes)
7. “Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette)”– Sammy Davis, Jr.(From “Quit Smoking” Episode)
8. “Gimme Three Steps” – Lynyrd Skynyrd (From “Ruined Joy’s Wedding” Episode)
9. “Joy” – Harry Nilsson (From “Something To Live For” Episode)
10. “Amos Moses” – Jerry Reed (From “Teacher Earl” Episode)
11. “Instant Karma” – John Hiatt
12. “What Goes Around Comes Around” (My Name Is Earl theme song - vocal version)
– Nescobar-a-lop-lop and the Camden County Band
13. “99 Red Balloons” – Van Nuys (Original Version By Nena Is In The Pilot Episode)


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home