Classic Rock Newswire

Click here for GRTR! Free Guestbook
My Guestbook

Wednesday, April 04, 2007

The Moody Blues are to have their classics albums 'Every Good Boy Deserves Favour' and 'Seventh Sojourn' re-issued by Universal on April 9. These are expanded editions, available in the SACD 5.1 format.

Bruce Springsteen is to release a CD/DVD on June 5 called ‘Live in Dublin’.
The discs were recorded at the three night stint in Dublin last November and will feature the following tracks:
Atlantic City | Old Dan Tucker | Eyes on the Prize | Jesse James | Further on Up the Road | O Mary Dont You Weep, Erie Canal | If I Should Fall Behind | My Oklahoma Home | Highway Patrolman | Mrs. McGrath | How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live | Jacobs Ladder, Long Time Comin | Open All Night | Pay Me My Money Down | Growin Up | When the Saints Go Marching In | This Little Light of Mine | American Land | Blinded By the Light | Love of the Common People | We Shall Overcome

The Sun newspaper reports that Dire Straits have been asked to reform for the Diana Memorial Concert, which is to be held at the new Wembley Stadium in London on July. Acts already conformed for the sold-out event include: Keane, Kanye West, Take That, Rod Stewart, James Blunt, Bryan Adams, James Morrison, Meatloaf, Orson, Pharrell Williams, Bryan Ferry, Joss Stone, Duran Duran and Elton John.

INTENSE have a new video online at Youtube:

Keith Richards has confirmed what was previously thought to be another item in the long list of Richards myths – that he snorted the ashes of his father.



Press Release / Poison'd, the new studio album from POISON, arrives in stores June 5, 2007! Produced by Don Was, Poison'd features Poison's hot new versions of their favorite rock classics, originally recorded by David Bowie, The Rolling Stones, The Cars, Sweet, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and many more!
Hollywood, Calif., -- Poison, one of rock's most iconic and enduring bands, has recorded a new album of cover songs, featuring many of their favorite rock classics. Poison'd, the band's first new studio album since 2002, will be released June 5 on CD and digitally by EMI America Records/Capitol.
Featuring Poison's original members, Bret Michaels (vocals), C.C. DeVille (guitar), Rikki Rockett (drums) and Bobby Dall (bass), Poison'd presents the band's first new studio recordings since 2002's Hollyweird.
Produced by Don Was at Hensen Recording Studios in Hollywood, Poison'd packs 13 explosive tracks, including new recordings of David Bowie's "Suffragette City," The Cars' "You're Just What I Needed," The Romantics' "What I Like About You," Sweet's "Little Willy," The Marshall Tucker Band's "Can't You See" and The Rolling Stones' "Dead Flowers." Some of Poison's best previously recorded covers are also featured on Poison'd, including KISS' "Rock and Roll All Nite," Grand Funk Railroad's "We're An American Band" and Loggins and Messina's "Your Mama Don't Dance."
"Poison is one of the greatest rock 'n roll bands in the world and, after 20 years, they can slam better than ever," says Poison'd producer Don Was. "They're powerful musicians and very cool guys. We had a lot of fun making this album and I think you can hear it in the grooves -- it's got the jive and is truly alive! I urge everyone to listen to it!"
Following the release of Poison'd, Poison will hit the road again on June 12 for a major North American summer concert tour. Tour dates and details will be announced and posted to the band's official website as they are confirmed. Visit and for the latest Poison news and links to other Poison-related websites.
In July, VH1 will premiere a new reality show, "Rock of Love with Bret Michaels." VH1's description of the show has "the hard-rockin' Poison front man looking for a woman who can truly keep up with his rock-n-roll lifestyle and not become jealous of his one true passion -- performing, which has been the reason for and destruction of most of his relationships."

Last April, Poison rocketed into the Billboard Top 20 with the #17 debut of the band's 20th anniversary hits collection, The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock (Capitol/EMI). The 18-track hits collection was soon certified gold, and Poison tore through the summer of 2006 on their highly successful "20 Years of Rock" North American concert tour. To date, Poison has sold more than 25 million records and DVDs worldwide.
Poison'd (CD and Digital Album)(Not Final Sequence): 1. Little Willy (originally performed by Sweet); 2. Suffragette City (originally performed by David Bowie); 3. I Never Cry (originally performed by Alice Cooper); 4. I Need to Know (originally performed by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers); 5. Can't You See (originally performed by The Marshall Tucker Band); 6. What I Like About You (originally performed by The Romantics); 7. Dead Flowers (originally performed by The Rolling Stones); 8. Just What I Needed (originally performed by The Cars); 9. Rock and Roll All Nite (originally performed by Kiss); 10. Squeeze Box (originally performed by The Who); 11. Your Mama Don't Dance (originally performed by Loggins & Messina); 12. You Don't Mess Around With Jim (originally performed by Jim Croce); 13. We're An American Band (originally performed by Grand Funk Railroad).
Tracks 1-8: produced by Don Was - 2007 (new recordings), Track 9: produced by Rick Rubin, Less Than Zero soundtrack - 1987, Track 10: produced by Thom Panunzio, Hollyweird - 2002, Track 11: produced by Tom Werman, Open Up and Say ... Ahh! - 1988, Track 12: produced by Ric Browdie - 1987; bonus track on Look What The Cat Dragged In reissue (2006), Track 13: produced by Don Was, The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock - 2006.

Press Release / Together for a short but memorable time—a trio of studio albums, a couple of tours, and countless thundering riffs—the second coming of Black Sabbath began in 1979 when founding members Tony Iommi and Terry "Geezer" Butler were joined by Ronnie James Dio. The former singer of Elf (and later Rainbow and Dio) added his fiery, demonic howl to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame group's crushing mix of iconic riffs, gloomy grooves and doom-soaked imagery. In late 2006 Dio, Iommi and Butler, joined by drummer Vinny Appice, reunited to record three new songs for Rhino Records' era-spanning collection The Dio Years. These recording sessions went so well that the quartet—billed as Heaven And Hell—launched a highly anticipated world tour in the spring of 2007. Released just weeks after The Dio Years, this single-disc Rhino Handmade edition of the original double LP, Live At Hammersmith Odeon, features Dio, Iommi, Butler and Appice getting hot one December night in London during Sabbath's 1981 tour for Mob Rules. Previously unreleased, the concert spotlights Sabbath as they storm through 14 of the Dio-era's best, including "Neon Knights," "Heaven And Hell," "Children Of The Sea" and "Country Girl." The band also performs several pre-Dio classics including "Paranoid," "Children Of The Grave" and a white-hot version of "War Pigs." Live At Hammersmith Odeon is available as an individually numbered limited edition of 5,000 copies.
Track Listing: E5150 (1:19) Neon Knights (4:37) N.I.B. (5:16) Children Of The Sea (6:07) Country Girl (3:53) Black Sabbath (8:24) War Pigs (7:40) Slipping Away (3:18) Iron Man (7:05) The Mob Rules (3:33) Heaven And Hell (14:24) Paranoid (3:21) Voodoo (5:44) Children Of The Grave (5:03).


Tue, 12 Jun Barrowlands Glasgow
Wed, 13 Jun Bristol Academy
Thu, 14 Jun Leas Cliff Hall
Sat, 16 Jun London Astoria

EPICA and KIUAS are the latest confirmed bands for the Bloodstock Open Air festival, set to take place August 16-18 at Catton Hall in Derbyshire, England.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home