Classic Rock Newswire

Click here for GRTR! Free Guestbook
My Guestbook

Tuesday, December 05, 2006

EVERGREY have started work on their new album for release later next year.

BRUCE KULICK has started work on a new solo album.

JIZZY PEARL has left RATT according to a posting on his website and it looks ever more likely the band will re-unite with the surviving original line-up.

IN FLAMES will be without both guitarists for their upcoming US tour with Lacuna Coil. Bjorn Gelott is taking time off to be with his wife, who's expecting the couple's second child, while Jesper Stromblad is dealing with personal issues. EVERGREY's Henrik Danhage and Niklas Engelin will replace them.


AEROSMITH are planning some UK stadium shows next summer.

16th June Wembley Stadium, London

13th Glasgow Garage March
15th Wolverhampton, Wulfrun Hall
19th Nottingham Rock City


RICKY TOMLINSON ‘Christmas My Arse’ (CDS 2006) EMI

TV star Ricky Tomlinson throws his hat into the ring for this year’s UK Christmas number one single and he has good odds although the X-Factor winner is always the bookies choice at this time of year. This tune bemoans all that is Christmas – same crap on TV, arguing relatives – the bad side of the season in other words. Set to a Quo like beat its listenable but like the turkey at Christmas I am sure you’d be throwing this away come the New Year…

Jason Ritchie

HARTMANN ‘Home’ Frontiers (2007)

Oliver Hartmann returns with a highly polished melodic rock album that has some very good songs. Pick of the bunch has to be opener ‘Coming Home To You’ with its keys and programming coupled with a very catchy chorus. ‘My Everything Is You’ tugs at the old heartstrings whilst ‘Millionaire’ is a good piece of heavy pop rock. The overall sound is very polished and not a million miles away from what Steve Newman does so well. The album does dip midway through but overall a pleasurable listen and recommended for lovers of polished melodic rock.

Jason Ritchie

KELLY KEAGY ‘I’m Alive’ Frontiers (2007)

Night Ranger’s drummer/vocalist is back with his new solo album and this time around Jim Peterik (Pride of Lions/Survivor) and Reb Beach (Winger/Whitesnake) are helping out. Also Tommy Denander (Radioactive), Bruce Gaitsch (Unruly Child) and Michael Lardie (Night Ranger/Great White) guest amongst others.
There is a good mix of songs on here from the big ballads ‘Everything I Need In A Woman’ through to the rockers ‘Stolen’ and the title track. One thing missing though is a real driving rock song that would lift the album up. Keagy’s vocals are as good as always and there are some tasty guitar solos on the songs this time around.
If you enjoyed his first solo album this is a natural successor, although this time there is more emphasis on the mid tempo/ballads side of things doubtless bought about by Jim Peterik! A proper solo album though in that its sound is a step away from that of his main band Night Ranger.

Jason Ritchie

Quiet Riot “Rehab” Demolition Records (Cat No DEMCD 157)

From the pounding opening track “Free” this new Quiet Riot CD captures the bands classic sound but with modern overtones throughout. Original members, vocalist Kevin DuBrow and drummer Frankie Banali, are joined by bassist Tony Franklin (Ex- Blue Murder) and session guitarist Neil Citron, and have produced an album worthy of the Quiet Riot name. Outstanding tracks include “Blind Faith”, the anthemic “South Of Heaven”, the slow building “Beggars and Thieves” and “Don’t Think”.

Tracks to Burn? “Free”, “South Of Heaven” and “Don’t Think”.
Why Buy? This CD will not disappoint long term, and new, fans of the band.

Nikk Gunns
4 out of 5


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home